Toolik at 1 AM
Home People Research Publications Photos Contact Us

Fearless Leaders


Dr. M. Syndonia Bret-Harte (Research Assistant Professor) email

Dr. Peter M. Ray (Professor Emeritus, Stanford University) email


Current Lab Members

Laura_Brosius Laura Brosius (MS Candidate co-advised by K. Walter, Started 2007) email
  Colin Tucker (PhD Candidate, Started 2005) email

Dr. Anja Kade (Post-Doctoral Researcher) email

  Dr. Eugenie Euskirchen (Academic Research Associate) email
GlennScott Glenn Scott (AON Research Technician) email  

Christie Haupert (Toolik Environmental Data Technician) email


Student Committees


Martha Raynolds (Ph.D. Candidate)


Jennifer Rohrs-Richey (Ph.D. Candidate)


Primary Collaborators


Brian Barnes (Institute of Arctic Biology, UAF)
Terry Chapin (Institute of Arctic Biology, UAF)
Sandra Díaz (Universidad Nacional de Córdoba – CONICET, Argentina)
Gregory Goldsmith (University of California Berkeley, Berkeley, California)
Paul Grogan (Queens University, Toronto, Canada)
John Hobbie (Marine Biological Laboratory, Woods Hole, Massachusetts)
Michelle Mack (University of Florida, Gainesville, Florida)
Edward Rastetter (Marine Biological Laboratory, Woods Hole, Massachusetts)
Diane Sanzone (National Park Service, Fairbanks, Alaska)
Gaius Shaver (Marine Biological Laboratory, Woods Hole, Massachusetts)
Martin Sommerkorn (Macaulay Institute, Aberdeen, Scotland)
Katey Walter (University of Alaska Fairbanks
Sergey Zimov (Northeast Science Station, Cherskii, Russia)


Undergraduate Students

The lab group mentors 2-3 students per summer, many of whom are supported with National Science Foundation Research Experience for Undergraduates Supplemental Grants (26 in total). Students from our group have gone on to graduate programs in biology at Brown University, University of Washington, University of California Davis, Michigan State University, Utah State University, University of Alaska Fairbanks, University of California Berkeley, and University of Virginia.  They’ve also moved on to careers in fields including medicine, science journalism, and landscape architecture.  

REU students

Kaitlin Rienzo-Stack (2007) Brian Anacker (2002) Kristen Lebacq (1999) 
Mark Burton (2007) Alison Czerniak (2002) Kristen Laughridge (1998)
Theo Varns (2006) Julie Ahern (2001) Cameron Walker (1998) 
Alyse Forrest (2006) Bernice Hwang (2001) Sonia Nosratinia (1998)
Gregory Goldsmith (2005) Stacey Young (2000) Laurie Gold (1998)
Meredith Trainor (2005) Dave Cook (2000) Joanna Wagner (1995 and 1997)
Joe Reistetter (2005) Joseph Rodriguez (2000) Suzanne Lippert (1997) 
Seeta Sistla (2004) Tori Ziemann (2000) Jennifer Zoerner (1995-96)
Bryce Masuda (2004) Jesse Burns (2000) Andreas Chavez (1995) 
Dan Sloan (2003) Vincianne Sacré (1999) Tad Gunkelman (1995)
Diane Menuz (2003) Joshua Whorley (1999) Jill Johnstone (1995)
Felicia Russell (2003) Erica Garcia (1999)  

Last Modified 05.01.10