IAB Director's Office

Email: UAF-IAB-DirectorsOffice@alaska.edu

Brian M. Barnes was named Director of the Institute of Arctic Biology (IAB) in August 2002 after serving for two years as Interim. He oversees infrastructure for cooperative research and more than 40 faculty and several Institute research programs ranging from ecology and ecosystems, wildlife biology, biomedicine and physiology, to molecular biology and genetics.

Major organized research programs at IAB include the USGS-funded Alaska Cooperative Fish and Wildlife Research Unit, the NSF-funded Bonanza Creek Long-Term Ecological Research Program, the Center for Alaska Native Health Research, and the NIH-funded Alaska IDeA Network for Biomedical Research Excellence, for which Barnes serves at the principal investigator and state-wide director. Research facilities at IAB include the Genomics Core Laboratory, IAB's Research Greenhouse, the Molecular Imaging Facility, and the Toolik Field Station, for which Barnes is co-Science Director.

Barnes' own research, sponsored by the NSF and NIH, including a Research Career Development Award, focuses on behavior, physiology, and genomics of hibernating mammals, including arctic ground squirrels and American black bears, biological rhythms and sleep, and overwintering biology of animals including insects. His B.S. in Biology is from the University of California, Riverside, and he earned a Ph.D. in Zoology from the University of Washington in 1983 and was an NIH-sponsored post-doctoral fellow at the University of California, Berkeley before beginning as an Assistant Professor of Zoophysiology at UAF in 1986.

Brian Barnes

Director
bmbarnes@alaska.edu
311A Irving 1
907.474.7649

Roger Ruess

Associate Director - Ecology & Wildlife
rwruess@alaska.edu
414 Irving 1
907.474.7153

Jeremy (Jay) Jones

Deputy Director
Jay.Jones@alaska.edu
154 Arctic Health Research Bldg
907.474.7972

Diane O'Brien

Deputy Director
dmobrien@alaska.edu
230 Arctic Health Research Bldg
907.474.5762

Anita Goetz

Assistant to the Director
algoetz01@alaska.edu
311 Irving 1
907.474.7649

Sandra Preshaw

Proposal Coordinator
slpreshaw@alaska.edu
302A Irving 1
907.474.6176

Edward Debevec

Web/Database Developer
emdebevec@alaska.edu
415A Irving 1
907.474.5641